Some recent filming and photography work in Italy

Recently I had the pleasure of being asked to film and photograph various places and businesses on the Amalfi Coast in Italy. I stayed in a small town called Pontone which is fairly untouched by tourism and therefore, at the risk of sounding cliche, feels like the ‘real Italy.’ The aim was to shoot and photograph the stunning views and landmarks around the area to promote the town and it’s businesses and basically boost tourism in the quieter winter months. Here’s the highlights video:

[vimeo https://vimeo.com/36792684 w=600&h=337]

I stayed at a fantastic B&B called L’Antico Episcopio, formerly a beautiful Bishop’s Palace now converted into a luxurious 6 room bed & breakfast. Both the views inside and out of the building are breathtaking. From my room I had an incredible view into the valley that leads to Atrani, with the brilliant mountain-top town of Ravello to my left and more of Pontone and it’s stunning hills on my right. Sunsets and sunrises each day were incredible.

I filmed in most of the surrounding towns; Amalfi, Atrani, Ravello, Pontone and then headed over and around the hills towards Naples for a day to film at the historical Pompeii ruins, overlooked at all times by the gigantic Mount Vesuvius. I was extremely lucky with the weather seeing temperatures of up to 20 degrees, which for winter in Italy is rather good (and much better than the near-zero conditions back in the UK at the time.)

I got to visit plenty of tourist destinations on the Amalfi Coast, namely Amalfi itself as well as Atrani and Ravello, but I also got to see plenty of places ‘off the beaten track.’ Lots of climbing hills and walking up endless sets of ancient steps allowed me to get some of the very best and probably quite rare views of the coast.

Atrani, Amalfi Coast, ItalySome more photos from my trip are here on Flickr.

 

Leave a Reply

